Priorities and Liberation

I have decided to take a break from on line dating.

My girlfriends have all been asking me how Saturday night’s date went and when I tell them he had a handgun, they look horrified. But worse than that, I tell them, he had a 13 year old son. I mean, holy fuck!

And I realised I’d rather date someone who is a raving nutter than one with children under 20.

And that’s not entirely healthy or entirely normal.

So I have come to the conclusion that 3.5 years of on off on line dating has absolutely warped my standards and acceptability.

So I’ve joined the dating agency of The Universe. I will ask The Universe to send me a partner who will be right for me (handgun or not, but no children under 20 please) and I shall trust the process.

And I cannot even tell you how strangely liberated I feel with this new mindset. I feel free. I’m just going to be me, living in my very lovely life, with lots of friends and lots of fun stuff and lots of creativity, and loving my work and I’m not even going to think about dating. Or destroying my soul as it has become.

Today I have clients, but in between them, I may crochet. Or lay on the sofa, or read a book, or paint a wall. I will not be trawling through a number of odd looking men and feeling sad for them that they are out there in the world feeling lonely (it’s the empath inside me) or that they might be a total fucking nutter (it’s the cynic inside me).

Of course all of this may change by tomorrow. But for today I am feeling happy and free, (and aware I haven’t had sex for 3 weeks eeeeeeeek).

Leave a comment